General enquiries:

Tribunal comments or enquiries:

Dear valued stakeholder, please note that our telephone line 031 365 7800 is temporarily unavailable. During this period, you can reach us on 031 355 0710


Appointment of new members to serve as the Ports Regulator

UPDATE: On 10 June 2020, The Ports Regulator of South Africa appointed one additional member, Ms. Sekgothadi Kabelo.

We wish to inform all port stakeholders and the public in general that 9 (nine) new non-executive Members have been appointed to the Ports Regulator of South Africa.

This was formally announced in the Cabinet statement released on the 28th May 2020 pursuant to the virtual Cabinet Meeting held on the 27th May 2020. The following Members have been appointed for a (3) three-year term effective 1st June 2020:

  1. Mr. Zolani Kgosietsile Matthews – (Chairperson);
  2. Mr. Asraf Mohamed Adam;
  3. Mr. Zola Fihlani;
  4. Ms. Kenosi Selane;
  5. Ms. Leanda-Marsha Vilakazi;
  6. Ms. Siphokazi Matolengwe;
  7. Ms. Zandile Kabini;
  8. Dr. Tshisikhawe Victor Munyama
  9. Ms. Sekgothadi Kabelo

We express our appreciation to the Minister of Transport, Hon. Fikile Mbalula, MP for the appointments which enable the Ports Regulator to better execute its mandate in terms of the National Ports Act, and better serve the port community, stakeholders and the public at large, especially in light of the current challenges presented by Covid-19.

We congratulate and welcome the new Chairperson of the Regulator, Mr. Zolani Mathews, together with the newly appointed Members, and wish them all the very best in the execution of their responsibilities over their three-year term of office.

We further wish to thank our outgoing Chairperson, Mr. Thaba Mufamadi, and the Members of the Interim Regulator for their leadership and commitment to the work of the Ports Regulator; their commitment to good and clean governance; their valued counsel, guidance and decisions; and for their magnanimous contribution to serve as the Interim Regulator in our time of need. We salute you and wish you well in all your future endeavours!

Mr Mahesh Fakir
Chief Executive Officer
The Ports Regulator of South Africa